Beat Down

Why do we do it?  Why do I do it?  


Why do we put ourselves down so much?  I can find more flaws in myself and my life than if the entire population of Turkey did.


Sidenote: [props to Sarah who is in Turkey right now!]


I can give myself a soulful beatdown harder than Manny Pacquiao ever could.  And he is feisty.


And you know what? I don’t think that I am the only one.  In fact, I know that I am not the only one because I hear you do it too.  


I was at the gym the other day and overheard one girl talk about how fat she thought she was.   Her friend was next to her and instead of discussing her friends obvious body issue, she just says that she too is too fat.  Both of these women were over 5’7″.  Both were under 120 Lbs.  Guaranteed.  So not only was it upsetting to hear this girls put themselves down so falsely, but neither of them tried to support the other by telling her that she is not fat.  Who does that help?


Now clearly I know, certain things are important: we should be healthy, we should have goals, we should care about our lives progressing in a positive manner.


But if I am taking care to maintain my life in a positive direction, why am I filling my mind with negativity?


What if I were sitting with 4 year old me?  Could I have the heart to critique her by saying all of the things I say to myself in one day?  

[you are perfect just the way you are girlfriend.]
[PS you are rocking that tutu.]

No, I couldn’t.  I wouldn’t be able to sit there and tell her that she didn’t do enough in one day, that she should have pushed herself harder and harder.  I couldn’t ignore all of the good things that she accomplished and just focus on what she didn’t.  



So why do it to myself?  


Sometimes life is a little hard.  I do not need to make it harder for myself, or for anyone else for that matter.  


I don’t want to make someone else feel bad about themselves.  Let’s lift each other up.  Let’s encourage one another.  Because most of the time, we are all doing our best and just need a little support. 


So go out there, rock that tutu and run the world.  Here are some videos for good ole soulful inspiration.  

Go get ’em tigers!!!! 
 

2 thoughts on “Beat Down

Leave a Reply

