port-a-pity

Sometimes life is tough.

Whelp. Not really.  I don’t live in a war torn area.  I don’t have a limited supply of food.  I have access to education, food, clean water, and many other blessings that are easy to take for granted.

So, I guess sometimes life just feels tough.  When this happens, I am always amazed at the little things that lift me back up when I am sitting in a stinky ol’ pity-filled port a potty.

 Image

No more of this pity party nonsense.  Since when did wallowing in pity become a party?  There is no cake.  There are no decorations.  Most of all, there is no one with you celebrating the woefulness of your life.  Soaking in self pity is more like squatting in a stinky, excessively-used, port of potty.  Or port-o-pity.  😉

It smells.  Its lonely.  Its dark.  It seems like your trapped in this poopy place.

However, it is optional.  At any time, one can flip the door lock from ‘Occupied’ to ‘Vacant’ and mosey on out into the clean, fresh air (unless you are the victim of a horrible practical joke, in which case, please call for help; it must be really awful in there.)

Image

I digress.  My point is, when I wallow in self pity, everything seems dark and stinky.  And I don’t necessarily realize that I have the simple choice to just get out of it.  Walk out of the pity pot.  Leave it a stinky part of my past.  Sometimes I have to be shaken out of it.  Someone has to knock on the door and say, “Hey, want to get out of there? Uhh, its been a while…”  or “I see a cotton candy vendor!” That will get me out too.

Image

That is where friends come in.  Friends have the amazing ability to open the door to the port a pity, let in the light, tell you to pull up your pants, and get you outta there!

Image

Just amazing.  I am so grateful for all of the friends in my life.  Who knows where I would be without them.  Probably trapped in a “portable toilet” at some janky fairground somewhere.  Geee-roooss.

4 thoughts on “port-a-pity

  1. Friends ARE amazing (and I’m glad that you’re here, to write charming posts that remind me not everything is horrible). Hope you’re doing well, Courtney!

Leave a Reply

