I LOVE FOOD!

Oh yes I do.  I love food so much, I eat it when I’m not hungry.  I love it so much, I eat it when I see it on TV.  I love it so much, I eat it when I don’t know why I am eating it…

Wait.  That’s not good.

I recently started a new fitness class.  The instructor brought in flyers from the Whole 9 website. The website is run by a couple who know a lot about fitness and nutrition (read about them here). Plus they both look like they just ate a bunch of lightbulbs because they glow so bright!

[okay, weird analogy, but they are beaming.]

Anyways, I read through the handout (this handout) and felt curious.  I also felt skeptical because of all of the promises it contained.  I also felt humored, because I mentally read it in Charlie Day’s voice from the Kitten Mitten video on Its Always Sunny in Philadelphia.

Giggly and doubtful as I was, I decided to try it.  I’ve had headaches, heartburn, abdominal pain, and loads of other annoying stuff going on lately.  I had mostly attributed them to stress, but I needed to face the music, I was not eating well.

So the deal is, its whole food.  No processing, no dairy, no sugar, no alcohol, no grains, no corn, no legumes.  Pretty much meat, vegetables, fruit, and healthy fat.  They discourage snacking and say no to any ‘paleo-fying’ decadent treats.  It sounded hard, but I researched recipes and did a MAJOR grocery store trip.  I even had to buy new spices because the majority of spice blends (seasoning salt, taco seasoning, meat seasonings) contain sugar!

I started Friday 9/14/12 and am on day 4.  I know I know, it may seem like ‘Day 4!?!?! That’s it?’ But I’m going to be honest, it feels like it has been forever.  Mainly because I have cooked SO much.

Don’t get me wrong, I am really enjoying it.  I have loved cooking. I made myself step away from books and the TV and do something with my hands.  I’ve made new things that I wouldn’t normally (sweet potato fritters, cauliflower/carrot mash, almond/herb coated cube steak).  I have planned meals and am actually using all of the food I bought at the store, instead of finding an old eggplant weeks later, decaying in the crisper.

I get kind of sleepy in the afternoons, but I’ve read that is normal and it usually goes away after or around the second week.  Skipping dessert hasn’t been that bad.  I went to an event on Sunday where there was a TON of sweet food.  I went with a full belly and treated myself to some fruit that was there too; so it turned out okay.

I also worried about the snacking thing.  I love snacking.  I usually joke that snacking is a favorite hobby of mine….  But I have noticed that since I am eating more protein in each meal and don’t crash from a boat-load of sugar, I don’t crave snacks like I used to (and it is only day 4!!!!)

What I like about this program is, it isn’t permanent.  Skipping all sugar for my entire life will NOT happen.  But, I can do it for 30 days.  My nursing professor said that it takes 30 days to not only make/break a habit, but also to determine if you really like something.  I have decided to do this for myself, to see how I like it, and to try to break some bad habits that are shadowing me.

So, here I go.  Well, here I continue, I suppose.

Wish me luck friends! ❤

Image

3 thoughts on “I LOVE FOOD!

  1. Seems like we have the same life almost!! I am on day 13 of the diet, and the first five days WERE MISERABLE. cooking all the time was exhausting, and I was tired most of the time. I have been writing about my experiences as well and some recipes check out my blog!

Leave a Reply

