life lately.

Life lately has been… a bit bananas.

In the past six months, my life has flipped-turned upside down.  I now understand just exactly what the Fresh Prince was rappin’ about.

IMG_3790

On one hand it feels like I am just doing my thang.  One day at a time, I am learning, growing, and moving forward.  It feels pretty settled.  Then I look at the other hand and am like, “Woah! Bear Claw!?!?! What happened????!?!?!”

My (very cloudy) point is, when I slow down and reflect on my life today versus life just six months ago.  The change is profound.

IMG_4096

So what happened?

i graduated nursing school, i got a brother in law! i became an RN, i moved, i adjusted to living on my own, i started a new job, i met new people, i missed past people, some people moved further away, others needed time to heal, we all needed time to heal.

IMG_3780

Some things are personal and just aren’t safe to talk about on the interwebz, so I’m just going to share a bitty bit on my job.

When I took this chance on myself two and half years ago, I never imagined life would be this incredible.  I work at the best place (for me, that is).  I am supported by my coworkers and my supervisors.  I am learning every day (and night) and my teachers are everyone;  my manager and preceptors, other nurses, my patients, E – the sweetest housekeeper, patients’ sons (and husbands, sisters, wives, boyfriends, girlfriends, parents), physician’s, robot doctors (aka the telecommuting doc), nursing aids, the chaplain, RT, hospice workers, and social workers.  I started praying that I would be ‘teachable’ at the beginning of each shift because there is just so much to learn.  I am grateful I work in a place that welcomes questions and am surrounded by people who will help.

IMG_4162

At the end of every shift, I shuffle back to my car.  The air is cold and my legs are tired.  I plop down in my seat and become engulfed in a feeling of satisfaction.  Even on the hardest days (/nights), when you are just doing your absolute best, but it seems like there is just so much MORE that you need to do on top of that, I end up with this feeling. I know I am where I am meant to be.  I know I will continue to learn and grow with time and experience.

IMG_4102
a little beauty on the walk back to my car after a long shift

These past six months have been a soulful workout.  I have seen and experienced more than I ever could have predicted, but I feel better for it.  It is like after a good cry (and you know I love those), you feel cleansed, but also fortified?  I guess that is how it feels when I sit down and think about it.

IMG_3883
do you see the pup? sweet zo

Oh! And guess what? I think I might like night shift! Cool, huh? I’m only two weeks deep now, so we shall see how it goes with time.  I credit my pack of night shifting friends who have been giving me step-by-step guidelines on how to survive.  They’re awesome.

IMG_4164
me after sleeping during the day. clearly i am one of those bloggers who only takes carefully constructed, very attractive photos of herself :-/ you’re welcome for this beauty world.

One thought on “life lately.

Leave a Reply

