autumn splendor

A few weeks ago, my friend Jenna and I went on a walk.  She is a nurse as well, so after many hours spent within the hospital walls, we needed some sunshine and fresh air.  Couldn’t everyone benefit from more of that?

IMG_4008

So we wandered about our town and came upon a little autumn sanctuary.  A grove of trees, fallen logs, crisp air, and fall hues surrounded us.  It was an autumn lovers dream.

IMG_4009

IMG_4013

IMG_4017

IMG_4022

Sometimes (all the time) it a good idea to step away from screens and savor nature.  We listened to the crunch of leaves under our feet, felt the breeze fly by our cheeks, and enjoyed the moment we were in.

Did any of you read the Little House on the Prairie series?  I grew up on those books.  This scene brings me back to ‘On the Banks of Plum Creek’.

I used to dream about living out in nature, in a little home burrowed into a knoll, like the Wilders.  While today I am glad my home isn’t subterranean, it is nice to know of a place where I can go to be transported back to that childhood feeling of wistfulness and wonderment.  Like sunshine and fresh air, I think we could all use more of those things as well.

Leave a Reply

